Taxes
  • Trump on the $22 Trillion National Debt: 'Growth Will Straighten It Out'

    By Michael Rainey

    President Trump was asked at his wide-ranging press conference Friday about the roughly $2 trillion increase in public debt during the first two years of his administration: Question: Let me also ask...

  • 		<p>Limit itemized deductions to 15 percent, with special provisions to maintain incentives for charitable giving.</p>    <p>      <strong>Broader benefits to U.S. economy</strong>      <br />Raises revenue more efficiently by reducing tax expenditures;

    Poll of the Day: Democrats and Taxes

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Democrats and Republicans receive roughly equal grades when it comes to the question of which party is best suited to handle taxes, according to an analysis by Navigator , a polling and research...

  • Amazon unveils effort to develop original TV shows

    Amazon Pulls the Plug on NYC Headquarters

    By Michael Rainey

    Amazon is canceling its plan to build a corporate campus in New York City, the company announced Thursday. The decision comes following months of local criticism of the project, in which the company...

  • The Great Debt Debate: How Dangerous Is It?

    By Michael Rainey

    MIT economist Olivier Blanchard caused a stir in fiscal circles last month with an academic paper suggesting that current levels of public debt may be less worrisome than many experts think (see our...

  • Eighty-four percent of Americans receiving refunds intend to pay down debt, save or invest.

    Why Smaller Tax Refunds Could Ding the Economy

    By Michael Rainey

    Although tax season has only just begun, early data from the IRS shows that the average individual tax refund is 8.4 percent smaller so far this year. Some critics have been quick to blame the...

  • U.S. President Trump meets with Schumer and Pelosi at the White House in Washington

    Trump and Lawmakers Dig In for a Shutdown

    By Michael Rainey

    Neither side in the battle over President Trump’s border wall appears to be budging, raising the odds of a partial government shutdown come Friday night. “Spending discussions have stalled, with no...

  • FILE PHOTO: A sign on an insurance store advertises Obamacare in San Ysidro

    3 Key Questions About the Obamacare Court Ruling

    The fate of Obamacare may once again wind up before the Supreme Court now that a federal judge in Texas has ruled that the law is unconstitutional. U.S. District Court Judge Reed O'Connor ruled on...

  • District of Columbia

    CBO Offers 121 Ways to Shrink the Deficit

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The Congressional Budget Office has released a 326-page guide that describes dozens of ways the federal government could reduce its large and growing budget deficit. The 121 policy options included...

  • U.S. President Trump participates in tour of U.S.-Mexico border wall prototypes near Otay Mesa Port of Entry in San Diego, California

    Boxed In by Trump, GOP Hurtles Toward a Shutdown

    By Michael Rainey

    House Republicans considered moving forward with a bill that would have given President Trump the $5 billion he has demanded for border wall construction, but it looks like they’re leaving town...

  • Marco Rubio, 44

    Marco Rubio’s Surprise Critique of the GOP Tax Bill

    By Michael Rainey

    Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) tackled the decline of the American dream in an essay published by The Atlantic Thursday, and in doing so offered some sharp criticism of the 2017 Republican tax overhaul – a...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Tuesday, November 20, 2012 - 2:45pm
Tuesday, November 20, 2012 - 12:10am
Friday, November 16, 2012 - 12:09am
Friday, November 16, 2012 - 12:00am
Thursday, November 15, 2012 - 8:16pm
Thursday, November 15, 2012 - 6:30pm
Thursday, November 15, 2012 - 12:06am
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 12:18am
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 3:05pm
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 2:57pm
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 12:21am
Monday, November 12, 2012 - 2:55pm
Monday, November 12, 2012 - 2:50pm
Monday, November 12, 2012 - 12:09am
Sunday, November 11, 2012 - 12:30am
Friday, November 9, 2012 - 3:23pm
Sunday, November 4, 2012 - 12:05am
Monday, October 22, 2012 - 1:48pm
Thursday, October 18, 2012 - 12:08pm
Thursday, October 18, 2012 - 12:04am
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 12:15am
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 12:14am
Friday, October 12, 2012 - 12:01am
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 12:01am
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 5:10pm
Monday, October 8, 2012 - 12:04am
Friday, October 5, 2012 - 12:30am
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 12:56pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 12:05am
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 12:04am
Friday, September 28, 2012 - 12:03am
Thursday, September 27, 2012 - 12:05am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 9:55pm
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 12:30am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 12:05am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 12:03am
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 4:03pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 12:22am
Monday, September 17, 2012 - 12:17am
Thursday, September 13, 2012 - 12:30am
Tuesday, September 11, 2012 - 12:12am
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 12:30am
Wednesday, August 22, 2012 - 1:24pm
Tuesday, August 14, 2012 - 12:02am
Wednesday, August 1, 2012 - 3:14pm

Pages